The official site of the Papua Bird Club
Home page
Our Approach
About Papua Bird Club (PBC) and our guides
Welcome to Papua
Welcome to Wallacea
Written testimonails and trip reports from customers and people who have worked with us
Flying to and in Indonesia
Travel documents and regulations
Field guide books
Other useful links
E-mail, phone or subscribe to our mailing list

About Visa

[About Visa Regulation]

[Papua Itinerary] [Sulawesi-Halmahera Itinerary]

Visa regulations

Indonesian Immigration has implemented new tourism visa regulation, starting from February 1st, 2004, to those who enter the Republic of Indonesia as shorted below. To your best understanding and to gain the most recent updates of regulations, it is strongly suggested that you browse the Indonesian Foreign Affairs web site at ( Kindly note that to be able to enter Indonesia; your international passport must be still valid for at least 6 months from your day of arrival into the country, plus your confirmed return ticket.

Visa Waiver

Citizens of 11 countries and territories listed afterwards are eligible to enter the Republic of Indonesia under the 'Visa Waiver' term: Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, Malaysia, Morocco, Philippines, Peru, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. These citizens will be issued a non-extendable and inconvertible 30-day stay permit free of charge.

Visa on Arrival

Citizens of 21 countries listed here are eligible to purchase a non-extendable and inconvertible 'Visa on Arrival': Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, and United States of America. The 'Visa on Arrival' fee amounts to US$ 10 for a 3-day visa or US$ 25 for a 30-day visa, payable in cash with pristine new US$ series, Master and Visa card. Processing normally takes less than 5 minutes per every applicant.
The following International Gates provided the 'Visa on Arrival' facility: Polonia (Medan, Sumatra) Airport, Sultan Syarif Kasim II (Pekanbaru, Sumatra), Tabing (Padang, Sumatra), Soekarno-Hatta (Jakarta, Java), Adi Juanda (Surabaya, Java), Ngurah Rai (Denpassar, Bali), Selaparang (Mataram, Lombok), Sam Ratulangi (Manado, Sulawesi), and the seaports Sibolga (Sumatra), Belawan (Medan, Sumatra), Teluk Bayur (Padang, Sumatra), Yos Sudarso (Dumai, Sumatra), Batu Ampar, Marina Teluk Senimba, Nongsa, and Sekupang (Batam), Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi and Bandar Seri Udana Lobam (Tanjung Uban, Bintan), Tanjung Priok (Jakarta, Java), Padang Bai (Bali), and Jayapura (Papua).

Visa application at overseas diplomatic missions

Nationals of countries and territories not eligible to enter the Republic of Indonesia under the 'Visa Waiver' or 'Visa on Arrival' items above, must apply for a non-extendable and inconvertible tourist visa at one of the Indonesian diplomatic missions overseas. The same regulation applies to citizens of any country/territory, wishing to extend their visit or stay longer than 30 days. Do contact for consular division nearest to your home. Strongly aware that visa processing commonly takes 3 working days. So it is wise to plan much earlier.

Top || designer:Andrew Noske